PLA filament

Grüne erneuerbare Quellen wie Stärke, Mais oder Zuckerrohr erzeugen Polymilchsäure , PLA Material oder PLA filament. Dies bedeutet, dass es besser für die Umwelt ist als andere Materialien, da es recycelt werden kann. Das perfekte Material für das Prototyping und Modellieren mit 3D-Druck. Vor allem bei Verwendung der FFF-Technologie ist PLA filament eine beliebte Wahl im 3D-Druck.

In Branchen und Unternehmen, in denen der 3D-Druck noch relativ neu ist, ist PLA Material die beste Option. Weil es in der Industrie als das am einfachsten zu bedruckende Filamentmaterial bekannt ist. Es ist ideal für diejenigen, die schnelles Prototyping durchführen möchten. Deshalb ist es die perfekte Wahl für schnelles Arbeiten.

Lion 3D printed with PLA

Spezifikationen für PLA filamente

Features
Dimensional accuracyHigh
Material costsLow
StrengthHigh
FlexibilityLow
Resistance
Heat resistanceLow
Chemical resistanceLow
Flame retardantNo
Water resistanceMedium
Temperatures
Melting temperature160 ‎°C (320 °F)
Nozzle temperature190 - 210 ‎°C
Heated bed60 - 80 ‎°C

Merkmale des PLA filaments

Das aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen hergestellte PLA Material unterscheidet sich grundlegend von Kunststoffen auf Erdölbasis. Die aus Öl oder Erdgasen hergestellt werden, die weltweit Mangelware sind. Daher ist es ein Material, das hinsichtlich der Verfügbarkeit äußerst zuverlässig ist.

PLA Material ist kompostierbar, wodurch es sich völlig von anderen Arten von 3D-Druckmaterialien unterscheidet. Der Abbau traditioneller Kunststoffe dauert Hunderte von Jahren. Und vor allem darf niemals zusammenbrechen. Besonders wenn sie auf einer Mülldeponie landen, wo es keine Luft oder Sonnenlicht gibt, um den Verschlechterungsprozess zu starten. In kommerziellen Kompostanlagen kann PLA Material jedoch in natürliche Elemente zerfallen.

Es ist bekannt, dass Kunststoffe beim Schmelzen ein Gesundheitsrisiko darstellen können, da sie schädliche und giftige Chemikalien freisetzen. Im Gegensatz dazu erzeugt PLA-Material auf biologischer Basis keine schädlichen giftigen Dämpfe, wenn es verbrannt wird. anstatt in einer Kompostierungsanlage zu landen.

Abwärtspunkte des PLA Filaments

Mit PLA-Material bedruckte Objekte können sich aufgrund hoher Umgebungstemperaturen (> 50 Grad Celsius) verformen.

Vorteile von PLA Filamenten

  • ✓ Kostengünstig
  • ✓ Starkes Material
  • ✓ Einfach für die Postproduktion

5 Tipps für den 3D-Druck mit PLA Filament

Zunächst ist es wichtig, die Stärken und Schwächen des PLA Filaments zu verstehen. Darüber hinaus muss man wissen, wie man das Beste aus diesem Material herausholt. Es ist wichtig, mögliche Probleme zu berücksichtigen, wenn Sie sich für den 3D-Druck mit PLA entscheiden. Sie wissen also, was Sie erwarten können. Um Ihnen beim 3D-Druck von PLA-Filamenten zu helfen, geben wir unsere 5 Tipps zur Verwendung von PLA Filamenten:

  1. 1. Kontrollieren Sie die Temperatur

Beim Drucken mit PLA Material ist es wichtig, dass die Temperatur stimmt. Beginnen Sie daher mit einer Starttemperatur von 195 ° C, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die besten Erfolgschancen haben. Die Temperatur kann dann in Schritten von 5 Grad verringert oder erhöht werden, um die richtige Druckqualität und Stärke zu erhalten, so dass sie sich gegenseitig ergänzen. Einige hochwertige PLA-Kunststoffe können bei einer niedrigeren Temperatur gedruckt werden, da sie einen höheren Anteil an reinem Harz mit weniger Verunreinigungen enthalten. Um die Haftung auf der Bauplatte zu verbessern, ist es wichtig, dass diese auf 60 Grad erhitzt wird.

  1. 2. Achten Sie auf Besaitung (Temperatur zu hoch)

Wenn die Temperatur zu hoch ist, werden zwischen den einzelnen Teilen Zeichenfolgen angezeigt. Der Extruder leckt PLA-Material, wenn er sich während des Druckens zwischen den verschiedenen Bereichen bewegt. In diesem Fall müssen Sie die Temperatur senken. Tun Sie dies in Schritten von 5 Grad pro Schritt, bis der Extruder aufhört, so viel Material zu lecken.

  1. 3. Schichten haften nicht (Temperatur zu niedrig)

Sollte die Drucktemperatur zu kalt sein, werden Sie feststellen, dass das Filament nicht an der vorherigen Schicht haftet. Dadurch entsteht eine Oberfläche, die rau aussieht und sich rau anfühlt. Dies kann auch bedeuten, dass das Teil schwächer ist und dann leicht auseinandergezogen werden kann. In diesem Fall sollte die Druckkopftemperatur in Schritten von fünf Grad erhöht werden, bis der Druck gut aussieht und die Liniensegmente für jede Schicht richtig sind. Infolgedessen ist das Teil nach Beendigung des Auftrags stärker.

  1. 4. Niedrigere Viskosität

Es kann vorkommen, dass ein Filament im Vergleich zu anderen Arten von PLA-Material eine niedrigere Viskosität aufweist. Aus diesem Grund ist die Leckage bei niedrigeren Temperaturen höher. Ist dies der Fall, sollte der Rückzug um einige Millimeter erhöht werden. Sie können den Rückzugsabstand in der 3D-Drucksoftware ändern, beispielsweise in Simplify3D.

  1. 5. Halten Sie das PLA-Filament trocken

PLA Material muss an einem kühlen und dunklen Ort gelagert werden, vorzugsweise in einem versiegelten Beutel. Auf diese Weise erhalten Sie die Qualität der PLA-Kunststoffe. Folglich wird sichergestellt, dass das Ergebnis des Druckvorgangs wie erwartet ist.

Branchen, die PLA-Material verwenden

Da PLA ein sehr anpassungsfähiges Material ist, das viele Vorteile bietet, wird es häufig in einer Reihe von Branchen eingesetzt. Folglich entwickeln und wachsen die Anwendungen, für die es verwendet werden kann. Das Drucken mit PLA-Material bietet eine Vielzahl von Vorteilen. Dafür wird es in immer mehr Branchen immer beliebter. Und es schafft neue Möglichkeiten für Hersteller. Die Art und Weise, wie das Filament besser für die Umwelt ist, wirkt sich sicherlich positiv aus, und dies bedeutet, dass es weiterhin eine wichtige Rolle beim FFF-Druck spielen wird. Da dies die Umwelt schont, bedeutet dies, dass Unternehmen ihren Beitrag für die Umwelt leisten. Infolgedessen produzieren Hersteller mehr Produkte, die langlebig, stark und zuverlässig sind.

Lebensmittelverpackung

Da PLA-Material als sichere Alternative zu herkömmlichen Kunststoffen angesehen wird, wird es jetzt in Lebensmittelverpackungen verwendet. Es wird jedoch wegen seiner Fähigkeit verwendet, Lebensmittel zu verpacken, da es extrem leicht entsorgt werden kann und die Umwelt nicht schädigt.

Automobil

Die Automobilindustrie sucht ständig nach Möglichkeiten, umweltfreundliche Fahrzeuge zu bauen. Daher ist PLA-Material die perfekte Option für das Prototyping von Autoteilen. Endprodukte finden sich in Kunststoffverkleidungen und Kunststoff auf Armaturenbrettern.

Haushaltsgeräte

Es gibt viele Haushaltsgeräte, die PLA-Material enthalten. Dies liegt daran, dass es sich um einen Kunststoff handelt, der sowohl Vorteile für die Umwelt als auch für die Anwendung bietet, für die er verwendet wird.

PLA 3D printers

T650
T650
Der T650 ist der kleinste industrielle 3D-Drucker in unserem Sortiment.
T850
T850
Der T850 ist der industrielle 3D-Mitteldrucker in unserer DESK series.
T1250
T1250
Der T1250 ist der industrielle 3D-Mitteldrucker in unserer DESK series
T3500
T3500
Der T3500 ist unser größter industrieller 3D-Drucker. Drucken Sie bis zu 2,1 Meter hoch!
T3000
T3000
Der T3000 ist unser mittelgroßer industrieller 3D-Drucker. Drucken Sie bis zu 1,45 Meter hoch!

Other 3D filaments

PLA filament

Green renewable sources such as starch, corn or sugar cane create Polylactic Acid,  PLA material or PLA filament. This means that it is better for the environment than other materials as it can be recycled. The perfect material to use in the process of prototyping and modelling with 3D printing. Above all when using the FFF technology, PLA filament is a popular choice in 3D printing.

In industries and companiues where 3D printing is still a relatively new addition, PLA material is the best option. Because it is known in the industry as the easiest filament material to print. It is ideal for those who are looking to carry out fast prototyping, which is why it’s the perfect choice for quick work.

Specifications for PLA filament

Features
Dimensional accuracyHigh
Material costsLow
StrengthHigh
FlexibilityLow
Resistance
Heat resistanceLow
Chemical resistanceLow
Flame retardantNo
Water resistanceMedium
Temperatures
Melting temperature160 ‎°C (320 °F)
Nozzle temperature190 - 210 ‎°C
Heated bed60 - 80 ‎°C

Features of PLA filament

Made from renewable resources, PLA material is completely different to plastics that are petroleum based. Which are made from oil or natural gases that are in short supply throughout the world. Therefore it is a material that is extremely reliable in terms of availability.

PLA material is compostable which makes it completely different to other types of 3D printing materials. The break down of traditional plastics takes hundreds of years. And above all may, never breakdown. Especially when they end up in landfill where there is no air or sunlight to start the deteriorate process. However, PLA material can breakdown into natural elements in commercial compost facilities.

It is a known fact that, when melting, plastics can pose a risk to health as they release harmful and toxic chemicals. In contrast to this, as PLA material is biologically based, it doesn’t produce harmful toxic fumes when it gets incinerated. instead of ending up in a composting facility.

Down points of PLA filament

Objects printed with PLA material can deform due to high ambient temperatures (>50 degrees Celsius).

Advantages of PLA filament

  • ✓ Low cost
  • ✓ Strong material
  • ✓ Easy for post production

5 tips for 3D printing with PLA filament

First of all it’s important to understand the strengths and weaknesses of PLA filament. Furthermore you also have to know how to get the most from this material. It’s important to take possible issues into account when deciding to start 3D printing with PLA. So you know what you can expect. To help you with 3D printing PLA filament, we’re giving our 5 tips for using PLA filament:

  1. 1. Control the temperature

When printing with PLA material it is important that the temperature is right. Therefore, begin with a starting temperature of 195 °C will ensure that you give yourself the best chance of success. The temperature can then be reduced or increased by 5-degree increments to obtain the right quality of print and strength so that they complement each other. Some high quality PLA plastics can be printed at a lower temperature because it contains a higher level of pure resin with fewer contaminants. To improve the adhesion to the build plate, it is important that it is heated to 60 degrees.

  1. 2. Look out for stringing (temperature too high)

If the temperature is too high then strings will appear between the separate parts. The extruder will leak PLA material when it moves between the different areas during printing. Should this occur, then you will be required to decrease the temperature. Do this in increments of 5 degrees per step, until the extruder stops leaking so much material.

  1. 3. Layers fail to adhere (temperature too low)

Should the printing temperature be too cold, you will find that the filament will fail to adhere to the previous layer. Which will then create a surface that looks and feels rough. It can also mean that the part will be weaker and can then be pulled apart easily. If this should happen, the printhead temperature should be increased by five-degree increments until the printing looks good and the line segments for each layer are right. As a result the part will be stronger once the job has finished.

  1. 4. Lower level of viscosity

It can occur that a filament has a lower level of viscosity when compared to other types of PLA material. For that reason leaking will be higher at lower temperatures. If this is the case then the retraction should be increased by a few millimeters. You can change the retraction distance in the 3D printing software, for example in Simplify3D.

  1. 5. Keep the PLA filament dry

PLA material needs to be storaged in a cool and dark place, preferably in a sealed bag. By doing this, you will preserve the quality of the PLA plastics.  Consequently it will ensure that the result of the printing process is as expected.

Industries that use PEEK material

As PLA is a very adaptable material that comes with many benefits, it is common to find its use in a number of industries. Consequently the applications for which it can be used are developing and growing. Printing with PLA material brings a multitude of benefits. Therefor the it’s getting more popular in more and more industries. And it creates new possibilities for manufacturers. The way in which the filament is better for the environment certainly works in its favor and this means that it will continue to play a major role in FFF printing. As it is easier on the environment, it will mean that businesses are seen to be doing their bit for the environment. As a result manufacturers produce more products that are durable, strong and reliable.

Food Packaging

As PLA material is seen as a safe alternative to traditional plastics, it is now being used in food packaging. However, it is used because of its ability to package food as it can be disposed extremely easily and will not harm the environment.

Automotive

The automobile industry is constantly looking at ways to build vehicles that are environmentally friendly and so, PLA material is the perfect option when it comes to prototyping car parts. End-products can be found in plastic trim and plastic on dashboards.

Household appliances

Many household appliances can be found which contain PLA material. This is because it’s a plastic that offers environmental benefits as well as benefits for the application for which it is used.

PLA 3D printers

T650
The T650 is the smallest industrial 3D printer in our line-up.
T850
The T850 is the mid range industrial 3D printer in our DESK series.
T1250
The T1250 is the mid range industrial 3D printer in our DESK series.
T3000
The T3000 is our midsize industrial 3D printer. Print up to 1.45 meters high!
T3500
The T3500 is our largest industrial 3D printer. Print up to 2.1 meters high!

Other 3D filaments