PEEK-Material

Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen PEEK-Material für den 3D-Druck ein. In der 3D-Branche ist PEEK-Polymer eines der besten Materialien. PEEK ist auch als Polyetheretherketon bekannt. Es ist ein farbloses, organisches thermoplastisches Polymer, das einige der besten Ergebnisse aller Thermoplaste weltweit erzielt. Es ist Teil der Polyaryletherketon (PAEK) -Familie.

PEEK-Filament hat eine breite Palette einzigartiger Eigenschaften. Daher ist PEEK eine sehr interessante Wahl für eine Reihe verschiedener Branchen. Branchen wie Medizin, Öl- und Gasindustrie, Luft- und Raumfahrt sowie Automobilindustrie haben die PEEK bereits als eines der Hauptmaterialien angepasst. Es ist die ideale Wahl für die Produktion in kleinen Stückzahlen und für spezielle Konstruktionen, bei denen es schwierig ist, Prototypen mit Metall und traditionellen Techniken herzustellen.

Spezifikationen für PEEK

Features
Dielectric strengthNeutral
Dimensional stabilityLow
Impact strengthVery high
DurabilityVery high
FlexibilityLow
Resistance
Heat resistanceVery high
Chemical resistanceVery high
Flame retardantYes
Water resistanceHigh
Wear resistanceVery high
Temperatures
Glass transition temperature145 ‎°C (293 °F)
Melting temperature345 ‎°C (653 °F)
Nozzle temperature370 - 410 ‎°C
Heated bed120 - 150 ‎°C

PEEK Polymer Eigenschaften

Die Temperaturbeständigkeit von PEEK beträgt bis zu 260 Grad Celsius. Daher wird PEEK-Material in vielen Anwendungen verwendet, die Geräte erfordern, die extremen Temperaturen standhalten. PEEK ist auch in der Lage, mit ätzenden Flüssigkeiten, Gasen und hohen Drücken umzugehen. Die medizinische Industrie ist ebenfalls an PEEK-Material interessiert und nimmt es in ihre Herstellungsprozesse auf, da es eine geringe Feuchtigkeitsaufnahme aufweist und leicht zu sterilisieren ist.

Einige chemische Beständigkeiten werden bei hohen Temperaturen geringer

Obwohl es die Fähigkeit hat, hohen Temperaturen standzuhalten, sobald es eine Temperatur von 200 Grad Celsius erreicht. Nach dieser Temperatur hat es große Schwierigkeiten, Chemikalien wie Chlor / Bromid, Fluor, HF und HBr, konzentriertem Schwefel und Salpetersäure sowie Ketonen und Nitrobenzol zu widerstehen. Die Temperatur, bei der die Polymerstruktur „viskose Flüssigkeit oder gummiartig“ wird, beträgt 145 Grad Celsius, dies wird als Glasübergangstemperatur bezeichnet.

PEEK kann auch geschwächt werden, wenn es UV-Strahlung ausgesetzt wird. Um dieses Problem zu bekämpfen, muss eine Pigmentschicht hinzugefügt werden, die aus speziellen Rußpartikeln besteht. Ohne den Zusatz von Additiven bleibt die Entflammbarkeit von PEEK gering, wobei ein weiteres vorteilhaftes Merkmal die Tatsache ist, dass die Rauchemission beträchtlich niedrig ist, die niedrigste aller Thermoplaste, wenn sie verbrennt.

Abwärtspunkte des PEEK-Filaments

PEEK 3D-Druck ist ziemlich teuer und Sie benötigen einen leistungsstarken Hochtemperatur-3D-Drucker, um das erwartete Ergebnis zu erzielen. Während PEEK sicherlich einen hohen Preis hat, hat es einige erstaunliche Fähigkeiten, die andere Materialien einfach nicht haben.

Die Vorteile von PEEK-Material

1. Verbesserte Leistung

Zu den verbesserten Leistungsvorteilen gehören endlose Beispiele. Alles von der Verlängerung der Lebensdauer durch Beseitigung von Korrosion, Steigerung der Kraftstoffeffizienz bei geringerer Reibung und Handhabung höherer Lasten / Geschwindigkeiten bis hin zum Betrieb in extremeren chemischen Umgebungen.

2. Gewichtsreduzierung von bis zu 80%

Mit 3D-Druckthermoplasten können Sie leichte Objekte erstellen, die noch stark sind. Das inhärente niedrige spezifische Gewicht von PEEK (1,3 g / cm3) beträgt weniger als die Hälfte von Aluminium und ein Sechstel von Stahl. Wartungskosten, Logistik, Installation – alle sehen signifikante Kostensenkungen in Verbindung mit einem verringerten Teilegewicht. Wenn Sie ein Teil aus Stahl nehmen, das durch Metalladditivherstellung hergestellt wurde, und es mit demselben Teil aus Thermoplast vergleichen, könnte das Kunststoffteil mehr als sechsmal leichter sein.

3. Weniger Abfall

Es entsteht nur minimaler Abfall. Da 3D-Druckthermoplast im Vergleich zu Metall-AM zur Steigerung der Materialeffizienz beiträgt, wird es häufig in der Produktentwicklung eingesetzt. Thermoplastische Materialien können geschmolzen, gehärtet (abgekühlt, so dass sie fest werden), wieder geschmolzen, wieder gehärtet usw. werden. Daher können Herstellungsabfälle wiederverwendet werden. So wird verhindert, dass es überhaupt zu „Verschwendung“ wird.

4. Größere Gestaltungsfreiheit

PEEK bietet mehr Gestaltungsfreiheit. Dank der erstaunlichen Vielseitigkeit der Verarbeitung können komplexe Geometrien ohne arbeitsintensive Nachbearbeitungsschritte eingegossen werden. Dies hilft Ingenieuren, die Leistung zu verbessern und gleichzeitig die Gesamtsystemkosten zu senken. Einfach gesagt, Sie können Objekte herstellen, die nicht mit Metall-AM hergestellt werden können. Selbst mit der heutigen Technologie verhindern die inhärenten Eigenschaften von Metall, dass komplexe Teilekonstruktionen oder -formen, wie z. B. Verbundkurven oder Fluidkonstruktionen, entweder aus Materialgründen oder aus Kostengründen eingeschränkt werden.

  • Extrem stark
  • Leicht zu sterilisieren
  • Großer Widerstand

Top 5 Tipps zur Verwendung von PEEK-Filamenten

Während Sie mit PEEK-Filamenten viele erstaunliche Dinge drucken können, müssen Sie bei der Verarbeitung noch einige Dinge beachten. Wenn Sie das PEEK-Filament falsch verwenden, kann dies zu mehreren Problemen führen. Es ist wichtig, dies zu berücksichtigen, wenn Sie sich für den 3D-Druck mit PEEK-Material entscheiden, damit Sie wissen, was Sie erwarten können. Um Ihnen beim 3D-Druck von PEEK-Filamenten zu helfen, geben wir Ihnen unsere 5 Tipps zur Verwendung von PEEK-Filamenten:

  1. 1. Kontrollieren Sie die Temperatur und minimieren Sie Schwankungen

Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass PEEK bei Temperaturschwankungen nicht gut reagiert, ist es wichtig, zwei Dinge sicherzustellen. Stellen Sie zunächst sicher, dass Ihr 3D-Drucker über ein angemessenes Wärmemanagement verfügt. Zweitens wird eine geschlossene Baukammer benötigt. PEEK kann bei Temperaturen zwischen 370 und 450 Grad in 3D gedruckt werden. Die Betttemperatur sollte immer mindestens 120 Grad betragen. Wie beim gesamten 3D-Druck gilt dies auch für den PEEK-3D-Druck. Je langsamer die 3D-Druckgeschwindigkeit ist, desto genauer ist das Endergebnis.

Um beim 3D-Druck von PEEK die besten Ergebnisse zu erzielen, sollten Sie den 3D-Drucker in einem Raum mit minimalen Temperaturschwankungen aufbewahren. Dies bedeutet, dass Sie den 3D-Drucker von der Sonne fernhalten und ihn nicht in einem Bereich platzieren sollten, in dem sich Menschen versammeln.

  1. 2. Achten Sie auf schwarze Flecken

Viele Benutzer haben beim PEEK 3D-Druck schwarze Flecken festgestellt. Es gibt eine Reihe von Gründen, warum dies passieren könnte. Erstens könnte es an der Verunreinigung von PEEK als Material liegen. Um dieses Material optimal nutzen zu können, benötigen Sie jedoch einen hochwertigen 3D-Drucker. Wenn ein Drucker nicht richtig funktioniert und den Prozess und die Temperaturen nicht verwaltet, kann dies dazu führen, dass PEEK zu Flecken kommt. Alle Tractus3D-Drucker haben jedoch geschlossene Kammern. Richtiges Kennzeichnen des Temperaturmanagements.

  1. 3. Sorgen Sie für eine saubere Düse

Entfernen Sie nach Abschluss des PEEK 3D-Druckvorgangs alle Materialreste aus der Düse. Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Düse nicht verstopft wird, was schließlich zu Fleckenbildung führen kann. Wenn Sie im Rahmen unseres Service Level Agreements einen Tractus3D PEEK-Drucker gekauft haben, reinigen wir die Düse kostenlos für Sie.

  1. 4. Verhindern Sie eine falsche Kristallisation

Während des Druckvorgangs von PEEK-Material kann häufig eine falsche Kristallisation auftreten. Wenn ein Teil eine braune Verfärbung im Gegensatz zu einer beigen Farbe aufweist, kann dies das Problem einer falschen Kristallisation identifizieren. Wenn das gedruckte Objekt unterschiedliche Farben enthält, kann dies ein Zeichen dafür sein, dass die Temperatur während des Druckvorgangs nicht ausreichend geregelt wurde. Tractus3D-Drucker haben eine geschlossene Kammer, sodass Sie sich keine Gedanken über die Kristallisation machen müssen.

  1. 5. Halten Sie das PEEK-Filament trocken

Wenn Sie nicht mit PEEK 3D drucken, sollten Sie das Material in einem versiegelten Beutel aufbewahren. Lagern Sie PEEK immer an einem kühlen, trockenen und dunklen Ort, bis Sie es wieder verwenden. Auf diese Weise erhalten Sie die Qualität des Materials und stellen sicher, dass das Ergebnis des Druckvorgangs wie erwartet ist.

Branchen, die PEEK-Material verwenden

Aufgrund der Leistung von PEEK-Material haben viele verschiedene Branchen und Märkte den PEEK-3D-Druck als Methode zur Herstellung von Produktteilen und Prototypen eingeführt. Es hat viele Funktionen, die zu seinen Gunsten arbeiten. Daher ist es das Hochleistungsmaterial für den 3D-Druck. Seine Zuverlässigkeit und Fähigkeit, mit großer Genauigkeit zu drucken, ermöglicht es ihm, ein Produkt zu liefern, das gut aussieht, langlebig, stark und verwendbar ist.

Luft- und Raumfahrt

Es gibt viele extrudierte Formen des PEEK-Polymers, wie z. B. gewundene Schläuche und gezogene Fasern. All dies kann als leichtes Drahtmanagementprodukt verwendet werden. Ein Beispiel hierfür wäre daher ein Draht, der mit PEEK konstruiert wurde. Bietet eine Abriebfestigkeit, die als Drahtbeschichtung auf festen oder geflochtenen Leitern verwendet werden kann.

Automobil

PEEK-Material bietet der Automobilindustrie eine Vielzahl von Vorteilen. 3D-Druck PEEK ist zu einem weit verbreiteten Verfahren geworden. Es wird jedoch hauptsächlich zum Prototyping und zum Schutz von Drähten verwendet und bietet eine leichtere Alternative zu anderen Arten des Schutzes von Drähten. Seine leichten Eigenschaften tragen dazu bei, Fahrzeuge leichter und sparsamer zu machen. Da eine neue Generation von Elektrofahrzeugen auf den Markt kommt, kann PEEK-Material auch dazu beitragen, die Leistung der Elektronik in einem Fahrzeug zu verbessern.

Medizinisch

PEEK-Polymer wird auch in der medizinischen Industrie eingesetzt, da es eine Reihe von Vorteilen bietet. Es hat eine Säulensteifigkeit und einen engen Biegeradius innerhalb dünner Wände, was es perfekt zum Manövrieren von Kathetern durch den Körper macht. Da PEEK als fortschrittliches Biomaterial gilt, wird es auch in medizinischen Implantaten verwendet.

Carbon PEEK, Material der nächsten Stufe

peek prints
  • Carbon PEEK Filament ist ziemlich neu und verleiht Teilen bessere mechanische Eigenschaften als jedes andere vorhandene 3D-Druckmaterial. Durch die Kombination des Hochleistungspolymers PEEK und der Kohlefasern ist dies das stärkste Polymer für den 3D-Druck. Mit hervorragenden mechanischen Eigenschaften, Beständigkeit gegen thermischen Abbau und ausgezeichneter Festigkeit.

PEEK 3D Printers
T850P
T850P with mohawk
Der T850P ist der beste industrielle 3D-Hochtemperaturdrucker unserer PRO-Serie.
T650P
T650P
Der T650P ist der kleine industrielle 3D-Hochtemperaturdrucker unserer PRO series.

Other 3D filaments

PEEK material

More and more companies are starting to use PEEK material for 3D printing. Within the 3D industry, PEEK polymer is one of the top notch materials. PEEK is also known as polyether ether ketone. It is a colorless, organic thermoplastic polymer that achieves some of the best results out of all thermoplastics worldwide. It is part of the polyaryletherketone (PAEK) family.

PEEK filament has a wide range of unique qualities. Therefor making PEEK a very interesting choice for a number of different industries. Industries as medical, oil and gas industry, aerospace and automotive already adapted the PEEK as one of the main materials. It is the ideal choice for low-volume production and specialist designs where it is difficult to create prototypes using metal and traditional techniques.

Specifications for PEEK

Features
Dielectric strengthNeutral
Dimensional stabilityLow
Impact strengthVery high
DurabilityVery high
FlexibilityLow
Resistance
Heat resistanceVery high
Chemical resistanceVery high
Flame retardantYes
Water resistanceHigh
Wear resistanceVery high
Temperatures
Glass transition temperature145 ‎°C (293 °F)
Melting temperature345 ‎°C (653 °F)
Nozzle temperature370 - 410 ‎°C
Heated bed120 - 150 ‎°C

PEEK Polymer features

The temperature resistance of PEEK goes up to  260 degrees Celsius. Therefor PEEK material is used in a lot of applications that require equipment which can withstand extreme temperatures. PEEK also has the ability to handle corrosive fluids, gases and high pressures. The medical industry is keen on PEEK material as well and is adopting it in it’s manufacturing processes due to the fact that it has a low moisture absorption and is easy to sterilize.

Some chemical resistances get less at high temperatures

However, even though it does have the ability to withstand high temperatures, once it reaches a temperature of 200 degrees Celsius. After that temperature it has great difficulty in resisting chemicals like Chlorine/Bromide, Fluorine, HF and HBr, concentrated Sulphur and Nitric acids, as well as Ketones and Nitrobenzene. The temperature at which the polymer structure turns “viscous liquid or rubbery” is 145 degrees Celsius, this is called the Glass Transition Temperature.

PEEK can also be weakened when it is subjected to UV radiation. Combating this issue is a case of adding a layer of pigment that consists of special soot particles. Without the addition of additives, the flammability of PEEK remains low with one other beneficial feature being the fact that smoke emission is considerably low, the lowest of all thermoplastics when it combusts.

Down points of PEEK filament

PEEK 3D printing is quite expensive and you need a well-performing high temperature 3D printer to get the expected result. While PEEK certainly has a high price tag, it has some amazing capabilities that other materials simply don’t have.

 

The advantages of PEEK material

1. Enhanced performance

The enhanced performance benefits includes endless examples. Everything from extending lifetime by eliminating corrosion, increasing fuel efficiency with lower friction, and handling higher loads/speeds to operating in more extreme chemical environments.

2. Weight reductions of up to 80%

With 3D printing thermoplastics you can create lightweight objects that are still strong. The inherent low specific gravity of PEEK (1.3 g/cm3) is less than half that of aluminum and one sixth that of steel. Maintenance costs, logistics, installation – all see significant cost reductions in tandem with a decreased part weight. If you were to take a part made from steel made by metal additive manufacturing and compare it to the same part made from thermoplastic, the plastic part could be more than 6 times lighter.

3. Less waste

It creates minimal waste. Because, compared to metal AM, 3D printing thermoplastic helps increase material efficiency it’s used a lot in product development. Thermoplastic materials can be melted, cured (cooled down such that they become solid), melted again, cured again, and so forth. Therefor manufacturing waste can be reused. Thus preventing it from becoming “waste” in the first place.

4. Greater design freedom

PEEK gives greater design freedom. Amazing processing versatility allows complex geometries to be molded-in without labor intensive post-machining steps. This helps engineers improve on performance while reducing total system cost. Simply said, you can make objects that can’t be made with metal AM. Even with today’s technology, metal’s inherent characteristics prohibit complex part designs or shapes, such as compound curves or fluid designs from either a material capability or cost limitation.

  • Extremely strong
  • Easy to sterilize
  • Great resistence

Top 5 tips for using PEEK filament

While you can print many amazing things with PEEK filament, there a still some things to keep in mind when processing it. When using PEEK filament the wrong way, it can cause multiple issues. It is important to take this into account when deciding to start with 3D printing with PEEK material so you know what you can expect. To help you with 3D printing PEEK filament, we’re giving you our 5 tips for using PEEK filament:

  1. 1. Control the temperature and minimize fluctuations

Due to the fact that PEEK does not react well under fluctuation in temperature, it is crucial to ensure two things. First of all make sure that your 3D printer has an adequate thermal manage. Secondly a closed build chamber is needed. PEEK can be 3D printed in temperatures that range from 370 degrees to 450 degrees. The bed temperature should always be at a minimum of 120 degrees. As with all 3D printing this is also true for PEEK 3D printing; the slower the 3D printing speed, the more accurate is the end result.

To get the best results while 3D printing PEEK, you are advised to keep the 3D printer in a room with minimal temperature fluctuations. This means you should keep the 3D printer out of the sun and you should not place it in an area in which people congregate.

  1. 2. Look out for black specks

Many users have experienced black specks during PEEK 3D printing. There are a number of reasons as to why this could happen. First of all it could be due to the impurity of PEEK as a material. However, to get the most from this material, you do require a high quality 3D printer. When a printer is not functioning correctly and does not manage the process and temperatures, this could result in PEEK beginning to speck. However, all Tractus3D printers have closed chambers. Enabeling the management of temperatures correctly.

  1. 3. Maintain a clean nozzle

Once the PEEK 3D printing process has come to an end, remove all leftover material from the nozzle. Ensuring that the nozzle doesn’t become blocked, which eventually can lead to specking. When you have bought a Tractus3D PEEK printer, as part of our Service Level Agreement, we will clean the nozzle for you for free.

  1. 4. Prevent improper crystallization

Often, during the printing process of PEEK material, improper crystallization can occur. If a part has a brown discoloration as opposed to a beige color, it could identify the problem of improper crystallization. If there are different colors within the printed object then it could be a sign that the temperature was not controlled sufficiently during the print process. Tractus3D printers have a closed chamber and so you don’t have to worry about crystallization.

  1. 5. Keep the PEEK filament dry

When you are not 3D printing with PEEK, you should keep the material in a sealed bag.  Always store PEEK in a cool, dry and dark place until you use it again. By doing this, you will preserve the quality of the material and ensure that the result of the printing process is as expected.

Industries that use PEEK material

Due to the way in which PEEK material performs, many different industries and markets have adopted PEEK 3D printing as a way to create product parts and prototypes. It has many capabilities that work in it’s favor. Hence the fact it’s the ‘go to’ high-performance material in 3D printing. Its reliability and ability to print with great accuracy enables it to deliver a product that looks good, is durable, strong and usable.

Aerospace

There are many extruded forms of the PEEK polymer such as convoluted tubing and drawn fiber. All of which can be used as lightweight wire management products. Therefore, an example of this would be a wire that has been constructed with PEEK. Offering a level of abrasion resistance that can be used as a wire coating over solid or braided conductors.

Automotive

PEEK material offers a wide range of benefits to the automotive industry. 3D Printing PEEK has become a process that is widely used. However, mainly, it is used for prototyping and to protect wires as well as offer a lighter alternative to other types of protection for wires. Its lightweight properties help to make vehicles lighter and more fuel-efficient. In fact, with a new generation of electronic vehicles hitting the market, PEEK material can also help to improve the performance of the electronics within a vehicle.

Medical

PEEK polymer is also being used in the medical industry due to the fact that it offers a number of advantages. It has a columnar stiffness and tight bend radius within thin walls which makes it perfect for maneuvering catheters through the body. As PEEK is considered an advanced biomaterial it is also used in medical implants.

Carbon PEEK, next level material

  • Carbon PEEK filament fairly new, it gives better mechanical qualities to parts than any other existing 3D printing material. The combination of the high-performance polymer PEEK and Carbon fibers means that this is the strongest polymer for 3D printing. With excellent mechanical properties, resistance to thermal degradation and excellent strength.

PEEK 3D Printers
T850P
The T850P is the small high temperature industrial 3D printer in our PRO series.
T650P
The T650P is the small high temperature industrial 3D printer in our PRO series.

Other 3D filaments